State championships

His title teams 1975 Anchored by future Pro Football Hall of Famer Dwight Stephenson, team goes 13-0.

1977 Tim Hyatt's fourth-quarter TD against Gar-Field caps 14-0 run.

1980 Despite VHSL changing two wins to forfeits, the Crabbers win it all.

1981 Crabbers become the first Group AAA team to repeat on the field.

1985 Season begins with a 7-6 escape of Green Run, 7-0 win over Denbigh.

1986 Crabbers lose in back-to-back weeks toward the middle of the season, rebound for title.

1988 Open with loss to Tabb, close with title win against Robinson.

1995 Ronald Curry throws for 271 yards, a title-game record, in the final.

1996 Crabbers outscore their opponents 768-83 and beat Patrick Henry of Ashland 51-0 for the title.

1997 Hampton wins its state-record 40th consecutive game in final.

1998 Marques Hagans takes over and leads the Crabbers to a 13-1 finish.

2005 Tyrod Taylor secures Smith's 12th title by causing fumble at goal line in 15-8 win over Stone Bridge.

His title teams

Copyright © 2018, CT Now