Kingsmill timeline

PGA and LPGA at Kingsmill timeline 1981 — The PGA begins its 22-season run at Kingsmill with the $300,000 Anheuser-Busch Golf Classic. John Mahaffey beats Andy North by two strokes to win the $54,000 first prize.

1986 — Fuzzy Zoeller, touring pro at nearby Ford's Colony, vaults past 11 players on the final day to win the tournament.

1990 — The event draws its brightest gallery of PGA stars. Kingsmill touring pro Curtis Strange begins the final round two shots behind Richmond native Lanny Wadkins, but fades as Wadkins wins by five shots over Larry Mize.

1997 — David Duval beats Duffy Waldorf and Grant Waite on the first hole of a playoff to earn his first PGA Tour victory.

1996 — The tournament is renamed the Michelob Championship, and Scott Hoch earns a wire-to-wire victory with a tournament record 19-under 265.

2002 — Charles Howell III, the 2001 PGA Rookie of the Year, beats 1996 tournament winner Scott Hoch and Brandt Jobe by two shots as the PGA era ends at Kingsmill.

2003 — Economics prompt Anheuser-Busch to terminate the men's tournament at Kingsmill and replace it with the LPGA Michelob Light Open. Grace Park wins the first tournament, earning $240,000.

2008 — Annika Sorenstam shoots in the 60s on four straight days to win the tournament by seven shots, then announces her retirement two days later.

2009 — Cristie Kerr becomes the first two-time LPGA winner at Kingsmill. Her $330,000 check exceeds the total purse of the 1981 PGA event at Kingsmill.

2009 — The LPGA era at Kingsmill ends on Sept. 21, when Anheuser-Busch announces it is pulling out as sponsor of the event.

PGA and LPGA at Kingsmill timeline

Copyright © 2018, CT Now