Schools across region win 2012 Board of Education Excellence Awards

Schools in seven local districts have earned 2012 Board of Education Excellence Awards, Gov. Bob McDonnell announced Thursday morning.

The award is part of his Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) incentive program for schools that exceed state and federal accountability standards and achieve excellence goals set by the governor and the Board of Education.

The top award  is the Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence, which went to 86 schools state-wide. No local schools are among them, but 22 won "Excellence Awards," the second-tier honor in the program.

These local schools met all state and federal benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and made “significant” progress toward the governor and board’s excellence goals:

Gloucester County — Abingdon Elementary, Achilles Elementary, Petsworth Elementary and Thomas C. Walker Elementary

Hampton — Armstrong Elementary and Francis Asbury Elementary

Isle of Wight County — Carrollton Elementary and Carrsville Elementary

      Newport NewsDeer Park Elementary and Hilton Elementary

West Point West Point Elementary and West Point High

Williamsburg-James City County — Clara Byrd Baker Elementary, James River Elementary, Matoaka Elementary, Matthew Whaley Elementary and Stonehouse Elementary

York County Coventry Elementary, Dare Elementary, Grafton Bethel Elementary, Mount Vernon Elementary and Tabb Elementary

Competence to Excellence

The Board of Education also recognized 171 schools with “Competence to Excellence” awards, a third-tier honor given to schools that meet all state and federal benchmarks for at least two years in a row and make some progress toward excellence goals.

Seven local schools are among them:

Isle of Wight County — Windsor Elementary

Poquoson — Poquoson High

Williamsburg-James City County — Jamestown High and Rawls Byrd Elementary

York County — Bethel Manor Elementary, Grafton High and Tabb High


Copyright © 2018, CT Now