Oldest theater

Built in 1889, the Auditorium Theatre of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000140" title="Roosevelt University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/roosevelt-university-OREDU0000140.topic">Roosevelt University</a> (50 E. Congress Parkway) is the oldest theater in Chicago.<br>
<br>
The Auditorium Theatre continues to host concerts, dance and theater performances. Tours for the general public are offered 10:30 a.m. and noon Mondays; 10:30 a.m. Thursdays. Tickets are $10 per person and can be purchased at the Auditorium Theatre box office or at ticketmaster.com; 312-922- 2110; auditoriumtheatre.org<br>
<br>
Other theaters are decades younger, including The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEOTMRM000001" title="Michigan Avenue" href="/topic/us/illinois/cook-county/chicago/michigan-avenue-PLGEOTMRM000001.topic">Chicago</a> Symphony Center (220 S. Michigan Ave.), built in 1904; Majestic Theatre (151 W. Randolph St.), built in 1906, now <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP001609" title="Bank of America Corp." href="/topic/economy-business-finance/bank-of-america-corp.-ORCRP001609.topic">Bank of America</a> Theatre; the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="HPU45" title="Palace Theater" href="/topic/entertainment/theater/palace-theater-HPU45.topic">Palace Theatre</a> (Randolph and LaSalle Streets), built in 1926, now the Cadillac Palace Theatre. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000136" title="Civic Opera House" href="/topic/entertainment/music/civic-opera-house-PLCUL000136.topic">Civic Opera House</a> (20 N. Wacker Drive), opened in 1929, six days after the stock market crash.

( HANDOUT / December 5, 2003 )

Built in 1889, the Auditorium Theatre of Roosevelt University (50 E. Congress Parkway) is the oldest theater in Chicago.

The Auditorium Theatre continues to host concerts, dance and theater performances. Tours for the general public are offered 10:30 a.m. and noon Mondays; 10:30 a.m. Thursdays. Tickets are $10 per person and can be purchased at the Auditorium Theatre box office or at ticketmaster.com; 312-922- 2110; auditoriumtheatre.org

Other theaters are decades younger, including The Chicago Symphony Center (220 S. Michigan Ave.), built in 1904; Majestic Theatre (151 W. Randolph St.), built in 1906, now Bank of America Theatre; the Palace Theatre (Randolph and LaSalle Streets), built in 1926, now the Cadillac Palace Theatre. The Civic Opera House (20 N. Wacker Drive), opened in 1929, six days after the stock market crash.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook