The Sun Remembers: Oct. 20-26

Oct. 20, 2002: On the game's last play, rookie safety Will Demps intercepts a Jacksonville pass on the Ravens 1-yard line to save Baltimore's 17-10 victory over the visiting Jaguars.

Oct. 22, 1982: In the first night high school football game ever played in Baltimore County, Franklin defeats Overlea, 7-6, before an estimated 1,000 fans at Towson Stadium.

Oct. 26, 1980: Bert Jones is sacked 12 times, tying an NFL record, in the Colts' 17-10 loss to the St. Louis Cardinals at Memorial Stadium. Jones also throws two interceptions as Baltimore falls to 4-4.

Oct. 20, 1970: "I'm going to ask for $100,000 — yes," the Orioles' Brooks Robinson says of his upcoming salary negotiations during a banquet in New York, where he receives a steel-gray Dodge Charger for being named Outstanding Player in the World Series.

Oct. 24, 1968: Annapolis-born Debbie Meyer, 16, wins the 800-meter freestyle for a record third individual swimming gold medal in the Mexico City Olympics.

Oct. 26, 1958: The Colts win their fifth straight, 35-10 over the Washington Redskins, before a record 54,403 in Memorial Stadium. Lenny Lyles returns a kickoff 101 yards for a touchdown and Johnny Unitas hits Raymond Berry for two TDs — the 20th straight game in which the Colts quarterback has passed for at least one score. Unitas' streak will end at 47.

Oct. 21, 1939: Challedon captures the Maryland Handicap by five lengths before an announced 18,000 at Laurel Race Course. It's the fifth consecutive victory for Challedon who, five months earlier, became the first Maryland-owned horse in 62 years to win the Preakness.

Oct. 25, 1924: Western Maryland defeats Catholic, 13-7 on a memorable touchdown play. The Green Terror's Carl Merrill catches a short pass and races 40 yards for the score as fullback Frank Sillin runs interference, mowing down four would-be tacklers along the way. Sillin later plays for the Dayton Triangles of the NFL.


Oct. 26, 1950: Chuck Foreman, a running back from Frederick who gained more than 9,000 yards in the pros and who, with the Minnesota Vikings in 1973, was named NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Copyright © 2018, CT Now