5. What's next for the Ravens' playoff preparations?

The final playoff seeding for the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000000250" title="AFC" href="/topic/sports/football/afc-ORSPT000000250.topic">AFC</a> determining the opponent, date and time of the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a>' upcoming wild-card playoff game will be finalized by Sunday night at the latest.<br>
<br>
There's a good chance the league will want the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000192" title="New England Patriots" href="/topic/sports/football/new-england-patriots-ORSPT000192.topic">New England Patriots</a> to be the featured Saturday prime-time game.<br>
<br>
That would likely set up the Ravens for a Sunday game at <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLCUL000177" title="M&amp;amp;T Bank Stadium" href="/topic/sports/football/m%26t-bank-stadium-PLCUL000177.topic">M&T Bank Stadium</a>, probably against the Colts.<br>
<br>
The Ravens haven't played the Colts this season, but are familiar with their style of play.<br>
<br>
The Colts' offense is built around the talents of rookie quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009016" title="Andrew Luck" href="/topic/sports/football/andrew-luck-PESPT000009016.topic">Andrew Luck</a>, a precocious young passer who was the top overall pick of the draft.<br>
<br>
Defensively, the Colts feature two experienced, accomplished speed rushers in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008986" title="Dwight Freeney" href="/topic/sports/football/dwight-freeney-PESPT000008986.topic">Dwight Freeney</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009012" title="Robert Mathis" href="/topic/sports/football/robert-mathis-PESPT000009012.topic">Robert Mathis</a>.<br>
<br>
The Ravens already have advance scouting reports to get ready for any of the opponents they might face in the postseason.<br>
<br>
Whether it's the Colts or the Bengals that the Ravens face in the first round, they'll have a lot of knowledge about either opponent.<br>
<br>
It's just a matter of which one of those two teams the Ravens will face in the opening round of the postseason.

( USA TODAY Sports / December 23, 2012 )

The final playoff seeding for the AFC determining the opponent, date and time of the Ravens' upcoming wild-card playoff game will be finalized by Sunday night at the latest.

There's a good chance the league will want the New England Patriots to be the featured Saturday prime-time game.

That would likely set up the Ravens for a Sunday game at M&T Bank Stadium, probably against the Colts.

The Ravens haven't played the Colts this season, but are familiar with their style of play.

The Colts' offense is built around the talents of rookie quarterback Andrew Luck, a precocious young passer who was the top overall pick of the draft.

Defensively, the Colts feature two experienced, accomplished speed rushers in Dwight Freeney and Robert Mathis.

The Ravens already have advance scouting reports to get ready for any of the opponents they might face in the postseason.

Whether it's the Colts or the Bengals that the Ravens face in the first round, they'll have a lot of knowledge about either opponent.

It's just a matter of which one of those two teams the Ravens will face in the opening round of the postseason.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook