Starting rotation

Measured against the outstanding performance of the starters during the season-opening series against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000017" title="Minnesota Twins" href="/topic/sports/baseball/minnesota-twins-ORSPT000017.topic">Twins</a>, it's hard to get too excited about the overall results from the rotation over the past two series, but we're not grading on a curve here. The starters have held their own and pitched deep enough into games -- on average -- to keep the Orioles competitive. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009873" title="Jake Arrieta" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jake-arrieta-PESPT000009873.topic">Jake Arrieta</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010135" title="Tommy Hunter" href="/topic/sports/baseball/tommy-hunter-PESPT000010135.topic">Tommy Hunter</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010090" title="Jason Hammel" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jason-hammel-PESPT000010090.topic">Jason Hammel</a> each have pitched at least 13 innings over two starts and the O's are 5-1 in those games. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015157" title="Wei-Yin Chen" href="/topic/sports/baseball/wei-yin-chen-PESPT0015157.topic">Wei-Yin Chen</a> (pictured) held his own in his major league debut. Only <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008616" title="Brian Matusz" href="/topic/sports/baseball/brian-matusz-PESPT000008616.topic">Brian Matusz</a> has bad numbers, and they're deceptive. He pitched pretty well Sunday. <b>Grade</b>: B

( US Presswire / April 10, 2012 )

Measured against the outstanding performance of the starters during the season-opening series against the Twins, it's hard to get too excited about the overall results from the rotation over the past two series, but we're not grading on a curve here. The starters have held their own and pitched deep enough into games -- on average -- to keep the Orioles competitive. Jake Arrieta, Tommy Hunter and Jason Hammel each have pitched at least 13 innings over two starts and the O's are 5-1 in those games. Wei-Yin Chen (pictured) held his own in his major league debut. Only Brian Matusz has bad numbers, and they're deceptive. He pitched pretty well Sunday. Grade: B

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook