Week 6: Ravens 31, Cowboys 29

With six seconds remaining, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000039" title="Dallas Cowboys" href="/topic/sports/football/dallas-cowboys-ORSPT000039.topic">Cowboys</a> kicker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013270" title="Dan Bailey" href="/topic/sports/football/dan-bailey-PESPT0013270.topic">Dan Bailey</a> lined up for a field-goal attempt that would have capped an impressive comeback. Dallas trailed the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> by eight points with 4:41 to play, but wide receiver <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012237" title="Dez Bryant" href="/topic/sports/football/dez-bryant-PESPT0012237.topic">Dez Bryant</a>'s 4-yard touchdown catch on a pass from quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000018598" title="Tony Romo" href="/topic/sports/football/tony-romo-PESPT0000018598.topic">Tony Romo</a> with 32 seconds left pulled the Cowboys within two points. Dallas failed on the 2-point conversion, which would have tied the game at 31, but an onside-kick recovery and a pass-interference call on the Ravens put the Cowboys in field-goal range. Bailey's attempt sailed wide left, however, and the Ravens escaped with the victory. The Ravens lost star inside linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008514" title="Ray Lewis" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-lewis-PESPT008514.topic">Ray Lewis</a> to a triceps tear and starting cornerback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013148" title="Lardarius Webb" href="/topic/sports/football/lardarius-webb-PESPT0013148.topic">Lardarius Webb</a> to a torn knee ligament; Webb was out for the season, and Lewis didn't return until the playoffs.<br>
<br>
<b>KEY NUMBER</b>: 51 -- Length of the potential game-winning field goal Bailey missed.<br>
<br>
<b>RAVEN OF THE GAME</b>: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012629" title="Jacoby Jones" href="/topic/sports/football/jacoby-jones-PESPT0012629.topic">Jacoby Jones</a>. In the third quarter, he returned a kickoff 108 yards for a touchdown, tying an <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="NFL" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a> record that he again matched in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000004" title="Super Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/super-bowl-EVSPR000004.topic">Super Bowl</a>.

( October 15, 2012 )

With six seconds remaining, Cowboys kicker Dan Bailey lined up for a field-goal attempt that would have capped an impressive comeback. Dallas trailed the Ravens by eight points with 4:41 to play, but wide receiver Dez Bryant's 4-yard touchdown catch on a pass from quarterback Tony Romo with 32 seconds left pulled the Cowboys within two points. Dallas failed on the 2-point conversion, which would have tied the game at 31, but an onside-kick recovery and a pass-interference call on the Ravens put the Cowboys in field-goal range. Bailey's attempt sailed wide left, however, and the Ravens escaped with the victory. The Ravens lost star inside linebacker Ray Lewis to a triceps tear and starting cornerback Lardarius Webb to a torn knee ligament; Webb was out for the season, and Lewis didn't return until the playoffs.

KEY NUMBER: 51 -- Length of the potential game-winning field goal Bailey missed.

RAVEN OF THE GAME: Jacoby Jones. In the third quarter, he returned a kickoff 108 yards for a touchdown, tying an NFL record that he again matched in the Super Bowl.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos