Week 1: Ravens 44, Bengals 13

The Ravens won their home opener for the seventh consecutive year, scoring the most points in a game since they scored 48 against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000041" title="Detroit Lions" href="/topic/sports/football/detroit-lions-ORSPT000041.topic">Detroit Lions</a> on Dec. 13, 2009.<br>
<br>
With a 7-yard touchdown run from running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086232" title="Ray Rice" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-rice-PESPT0000086232.topic">Ray Rice</a> and a 34-yard touchdown pass from quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000012410" title="Joe Flacco" href="/topic/sports/football/joe-flacco-PESPT0000012410.topic">Joe Flacco</a> to wide receiver <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008942" title="Anquan Boldin" href="/topic/sports/football/anquan-boldin-PESPT00008942.topic">Anquan Boldin</a>, the Ravens opened up a 17-3 lead at the 12:25 mark of the second quarter. But the Bengals came back with a 6-yard touchdown run from running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012481" title="BenJarvus Green-Ellis" href="/topic/sports/football/benjarvus-green-ellis-PESPT0012481.topic">BenJarvus Green-Ellis</a> and a 19-yard field goal from kicker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012844" title="Mike Nugent" href="/topic/sports/football/mike-nugent-PESPT0012844.topic">Mike Nugent</a> to close the score to 17-13 early in the third quarter.<br>
<br>
The Ravens pulled away, however, as tight end <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012888" title="Dennis Pitta" href="/topic/sports/football/dennis-pitta-PESPT0012888.topic">Dennis Pitta</a> caught a 10-yard touchdown pass from Flacco, safety <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008421" title="Ed Reed" href="/topic/sports/football/ed-reed-PESPT008421.topic">Ed Reed</a> returned an interception 34 yards for a score, and Rice ran for a 1-yard touchdown as the Ravens closed the game on a 27-0 run.<br>
<br>
<b>KEY NUMBER</b>: 27 -- Number of points the Ravens scored in the second half. The Bengals scored just three.<br>
<br>
<b>RAVEN OF THE GAME</b>: Joe Flacco. He completed 21 of 29 passes for 299 yards and two touchdowns.

( September 11, 2012 )

The Ravens won their home opener for the seventh consecutive year, scoring the most points in a game since they scored 48 against the Detroit Lions on Dec. 13, 2009.

With a 7-yard touchdown run from running back Ray Rice and a 34-yard touchdown pass from quarterback Joe Flacco to wide receiver Anquan Boldin, the Ravens opened up a 17-3 lead at the 12:25 mark of the second quarter. But the Bengals came back with a 6-yard touchdown run from running back BenJarvus Green-Ellis and a 19-yard field goal from kicker Mike Nugent to close the score to 17-13 early in the third quarter.

The Ravens pulled away, however, as tight end Dennis Pitta caught a 10-yard touchdown pass from Flacco, safety Ed Reed returned an interception 34 yards for a score, and Rice ran for a 1-yard touchdown as the Ravens closed the game on a 27-0 run.

KEY NUMBER: 27 -- Number of points the Ravens scored in the second half. The Bengals scored just three.

RAVEN OF THE GAME: Joe Flacco. He completed 21 of 29 passes for 299 yards and two touchdowns.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos