BROWNS RUN OFFENSE VS RAVENS RUN DEFENSE:

Even without middle linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008514" title="Ray Lewis" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-lewis-PESPT008514.topic">Ray Lewis</a>, the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a>’ defense completely negated the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000057" title="San Francisco 49ers" href="/topic/sports/football/san-francisco-49ers-ORSPT000057.topic">49ers</a>’ run game, holding <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013632" title="Frank Gore" href="/topic/sports/football/frank-gore-PESPT0013632.topic">Frank Gore</a> and company to 74 yards rushing, lowering their already impressive average. The Ravens allow just 91.5 yards on the ground, the third fewest in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>, and just 3.4 yards per carry, the lowest total in the league. If Lewis misses a third consecutive game, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012395" title="Dannell Ellerbe" href="/topic/sports/football/dannell-ellerbe-PESPT0012395.topic">Dannell Ellerbe</a> will likely start in his place with help from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000301" title="Brendon Ayanbadejo" href="/topic/sports/football/brendon-ayanbadejo-PESPT000301.topic">Brendon Ayanbadejo</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012740" title="Albert McClellan" href="/topic/sports/football/albert-mcclellan-PESPT0012740.topic">Albert McClellan</a>. Cleveland is averaging just 96.8 rushing yards per game, but the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000038" title="Cleveland Browns" href="/topic/sports/football/cleveland-browns-ORSPT000038.topic">Browns</a> are feeling much better about the state of their ground game because of the return of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012551" title="Peyton Hillis" href="/topic/sports/football/peyton-hillis-PESPT0012551.topic">Peyton Hillis</a>. The bruising back rushed for 65 yards on 19 carries last Sunday against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000037" title="Cincinnati Bengals" href="/topic/sports/football/cincinnati-bengals-ORSPT000037.topic">Bengals</a> after missing the previous five games with a hamstring injury. Hillis rushed for 144 yards and a touchdown against the Ravens in the first meeting last season but was held to 35 yards on 12 carries in the second. His backups, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012854" title="Chris Ogbonnaya" href="/topic/sports/football/chris-ogbonnaya-PESPT0012854.topic">Chris Ogbonnaya</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012512" title="Montario Hardesty" href="/topic/sports/football/montario-hardesty-PESPT0012512.topic">Montario Hardesty</a>, also could get some touches Sunday.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS

( Tyler Barrick, Getty Images / November 27, 2011 )

Even without middle linebacker Ray Lewis, the Ravens’ defense completely negated the 49ers’ run game, holding Frank Gore and company to 74 yards rushing, lowering their already impressive average. The Ravens allow just 91.5 yards on the ground, the third fewest in the NFL, and just 3.4 yards per carry, the lowest total in the league. If Lewis misses a third consecutive game, Dannell Ellerbe will likely start in his place with help from Brendon Ayanbadejo and Albert McClellan. Cleveland is averaging just 96.8 rushing yards per game, but the Browns are feeling much better about the state of their ground game because of the return of Peyton Hillis. The bruising back rushed for 65 yards on 19 carries last Sunday against the Bengals after missing the previous five games with a hamstring injury. Hillis rushed for 144 yards and a touchdown against the Ravens in the first meeting last season but was held to 35 yards on 12 carries in the second. His backups, Chris Ogbonnaya and Montario Hardesty, also could get some touches Sunday.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook