BENGALS PASS OFFENSE VS. RAVENS PASS DEFENSE

While he is just 20th in the league in passing yards, Bengals rookie quarterback Andy Dalton has led three fourth-quarter comebacks and won his teammates over with his poise and production. Dalton has more touchdown passes (14) in the season's first nine games than any rookie since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger. Wide receiver A.J. Green leads all NFL rookies in receptions (41), receiving yards (635) and receiving touchdowns (six), but he is doubtful for the game with a knee injury. Dalton has other weapons at his disposal including receivers <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013001" title="Jerome Simpson" href="/topic/sports/football/jerome-simpson-PESPT0013001.topic">Jerome Simpson</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012252" title="Andre Caldwell" href="/topic/sports/football/andre-caldwell-PESPT0012252.topic">Andre Caldwell</a> and tight end <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012487" title="Jermaine Gresham" href="/topic/sports/football/jermaine-gresham-PESPT0012487.topic">Jermaine Gresham</a>. Simpson had 12 catches and a touchdown in a game against the Ravens last year. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000037" title="Cincinnati Bengals" href="/topic/sports/football/cincinnati-bengals-ORSPT000037.topic">Bengals</a> offensive line, anchored by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013162" title="Andrew Whitworth" href="/topic/sports/football/andrew-whitworth-PESPT0013162.topic">Andrew Whitworth</a>, has given up just 13 sacks, the third fewest in the NFL. The Ravens are tied for third in the NFL with 27 sacks. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008622" title="Terrell Suggs" href="/topic/sports/football/terrell-suggs-PESPT000008622.topic">Terrell Suggs</a> has a team-leading six and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012662" title="Paul Kruger" href="/topic/sports/football/paul-kruger-PESPT0012662.topic">Paul Kruger</a> has 4 1/2, all coming in the last four games. The Ravens have allowed 194.3 yards per game through the air, which is sixth in the NFL.<br>
<br>
EDGE: RAVENS

( Joe Robbins, Getty Images / November 13, 2011 )

While he is just 20th in the league in passing yards, Bengals rookie quarterback Andy Dalton has led three fourth-quarter comebacks and won his teammates over with his poise and production. Dalton has more touchdown passes (14) in the season's first nine games than any rookie since the 1970 AFL-NFL merger. Wide receiver A.J. Green leads all NFL rookies in receptions (41), receiving yards (635) and receiving touchdowns (six), but he is doubtful for the game with a knee injury. Dalton has other weapons at his disposal including receivers Jerome Simpson and Andre Caldwell and tight end Jermaine Gresham. Simpson had 12 catches and a touchdown in a game against the Ravens last year. The Bengals offensive line, anchored by Andrew Whitworth, has given up just 13 sacks, the third fewest in the NFL. The Ravens are tied for third in the NFL with 27 sacks. Terrell Suggs has a team-leading six and Paul Kruger has 4 1/2, all coming in the last four games. The Ravens have allowed 194.3 yards per game through the air, which is sixth in the NFL.

EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook