Kill Devil Hills, NC

People shield themselves from blowing sand and rain as they look over the beach during <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVWAN00009" title="Hurricane Irene (2011)" href="/topic/disasters-accidents/meteorological-disasters/hurricane-irene-%282011%29-EVWAN00009.topic">Hurricane Irene</a> in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100904010500" title="Kill Devil Hills" href="/topic/us/north-carolina/dare-county/avon-%28dare-north-carolina%29/kill-devil-hills-PLGEO100100904010500.topic">Kill Devil Hills</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100900000000" title="North Carolina" href="/topic/us/north-carolina-PLGEO100100900000000.topic">North Carolina</a>. Hurricane Irene hit <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100904000000" title="Dare County" href="/topic/us/north-carolina/dare-county-PLGEO100100904000000.topic">Dare County</a>, which sits along the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLREC000005" title="Outer Banks" href="/topic/travel/tourism-leisure/outer-banks-PLREC000005.topic">Outer Banks</a> and includes the vacation towns of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100904010800" title="Nags Head" href="/topic/us/north-carolina/dare-county/avon-%28dare-north-carolina%29/nags-head-PLGEO100100904010800.topic">Nags Head</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100904010600" title="Kitty Hawk" href="/topic/us/north-carolina/dare-county/avon-%28dare-north-carolina%29/kitty-hawk-PLGEO100100904010600.topic">Kitty Hawk</a> and Kill Devil Hills, as a category one hurricane around mid-day today.

( Getty Images / August 27, 2011 )

People shield themselves from blowing sand and rain as they look over the beach during Hurricane Irene in Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina. Hurricane Irene hit Dare County, which sits along the Outer Banks and includes the vacation towns of Nags Head, Kitty Hawk and Kill Devil Hills, as a category one hurricane around mid-day today.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos