Allison Schulnik

Part of Allison Schulnik'S exhibit at the MATRIX Gallery at Wadsworth Atheneum. (Allison Schulnick / January 15, 2014)

Allison Schulnik becomes the 168th artist in the MATRIX series at Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art in Hartford when her exhibit opens on Feb. 6. It will run until Sunday, May 4. The show features "Eager," a new stop-motion, clay animation video, as well as her 2011 film, "Mound," and 14 artworks related to her films. Details: www.wadsworthatheneum.org.

At Real Art Ways in Hartford, Shane Morrissey's "The Hobie Cat," an exhibit of sculpture by the UConn MFA candidate, will run from Thursday, Feb. 13, until Sunday, May 4. "Allison Kaufman: Amplified Stages," a show of video art and installations about American suburban culture, will be Thursday, March 20, until Sunday, June 8. Details: www.realartways.org.

"James Prosek: Wondrous Strange," an exhibit of painting, sculpture and installations by the Easton artist focused on how humans name and order nature, will be at New Britain Museum of American Art from Saturday, Feb. 22, until Sunday, June 8. The NBMAA also will unveil a new site-specific installation at the LeWitt Family Staircase on Sunday, March 9. The work is by Soo Sunny Park. On Saturday, March 8, the museum will open "Click! Clack! Ding! The American Typewriter," a historical exhibit. It will run until Sunday, June 1. Details: www.nbmaa.org.

"Dancing in the Moonlight: Nocturnes by Charles Yoder" will be at the Mattatuck Museum in Waterbury from Sunday, Jan. 19, until Sunday, March 2. Yoder's work, which includes drawings, watercolors, silkscreens, lithographs and monotypes, focuses on nature, in all seaaons and at all times of day. Opening reception is Jan. 19, 2 to 4 p.m. Details: www.mattatuckmuseum.org.

Bruce Museum in Greenwich presents "Ed Clarke: Photojournalist" beginning on Saturday, Feb. 1, to Sunday, June 1, and "Pasture to Pond: Connecticut Impressionism" from Saturday, March 22, to Saturday, June 21. That show features work by Childe Hassam, J. Alden Weir, John Henry Twachtman, Leonard Ochtman and others. Details: www.brucemuseum.org.

The two museums at Yale University in New Haven have lots going on this winter and spring. Yale University Art Gallery has "Byobu: The Grandeur of Japanese Screens" from Friday, Feb. 7, until Sunday, July 6, and "Jazz Lives: The Photographs of Lee Friedlander and Milt Hinton" opening on Friday, April 4. Yale Center for British Art has "Fame and Friendship: Pope, Roubiliac, and the Portrait Bust in Eighteenth-Century Britain" from Thursday, Feb. 20, until Monday, May 19, "Richard Wilson and the Transformation of European Landscape Painting" from Thursday, March 6, until Sunday, June 1, and "Art in Focus: Wales" from Friday, April 4, until Sunday, Aug. 10. Details: artgallery.yale.edu.

The three museums at Wesleyan University in Middletown have exhibits coming up. At the Davison Art Center: "Planes, Trains, and Automobiles" is exactly that, images of planes, trains and cars, from Thursday, Jan. 30, to Thursday, March 6. The show includes William Henry Jackson's 19th-century celebrations of the railroad in the American West, Jacques Henri Lartigue's action shots of early French automobile races, the abandoned Fords of Robert Sheehan, photographs by Berenice Abbott, Danny Lyon, Walker Evans, Louis Faurer and Garry Winogrand. At the Ezra and Cecile Zilkha Gallery, "Evan Roth//Intellectual Property Donor" will be Wednesday, Feb. 5, until Sunday, March 2. At the Mansfield Freeman Center for East Asian Studies, " Mary Heebner: Silent Face/Angkor," an interpretation of myths surrounding the Angkor temple, will be up from Wednesday, Feb. 5, until Sunday, May 25. Details: www.wesleyan.edu.

"Lucien Abrams: A Cosmopolitan in Connecticut," an exhibit of Impressionist works created in Algeria, New England and the American Southwest, will be at the Florence Griswold Museum in Old Lyme from Friday, March 21, until Sunday, June 1. Details: www.flogris.org.

"Sub Urbanisms: Casino Company-town, China-town," an exhibit "exploring the controversial conversion of single-family homes into multifamily communities by immigrant Chinese casino workers in southeastern Connecticut," will be at the Lyman Allyn Art Museum in New London from Saturday, Feb. 8, until Monday, May 12. Also at the Lyman Allyn: "Spirits of the Forest, People of the Herd: African Art in Two Worlds," an exhibit of art and artifacts from coastal West Africa and Uganda, will be up from Thursday, Feb. 20, until Monday, May 12. Details: www.lymanallyn.org.